Robert DELAUNAY (1885-1941)

Lot 7
Go to lot
Estimation :
150000 - 200000 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 200 000EUR
Robert DELAUNAY (1885-1941)

Robert DELAUNAY (1885-1941)



Portuguese woman in the garden, Portugal, 1915.



Gouache and watercolor on paper mounted on parquet panel, signed lower right.



Label on the back and customs stamp.



55,5 x 70 cm.



Small jumps on the edges, tiny tears, slight scratches.





Preparatory work for the painting in the Thyssen Museum in Madrid.





We thank Mr. Richard Riss for confirming the authenticity of this work.





Bibliography :



Ref. Guy Habasque number 167, and number F. 138 in the archives.





The primacy he gives to colour and its vibrations, as well as to the subjective vision of reality, make Robert Delaunay a pioneer of abstraction. Portugaise au jardin, Portugal, a gouache and watercolour preparatory to the painting La Grande Portugaise, now in the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum in Madrid, is a work with almost manifesto value.





A prophetic work, in the early days of abstraction



This large gouache - indicating that it is the final preparatory phase for a large-format painting - offers an exceptional symphony of colours. Reds, greens, yellows and blues, far from competing in saturation, are combined with precision in a composition where abstract forms and figurative elements - a woman in traditional dress, a palm tree - are mixed. As part of the very early years of abstraction, Portugaise au jardin demonstrates Delaunay's concern to express a "language of light", as described by the poet Guillaume Apollinaire; light and the vibratory qualities of colours becoming the very subject of his painting. Our work is thus situated at a pivotal moment in the history of art, to which Delaunay did more than contribute; he activated it.





A rare testimony to the artist's stay in Portugal



Between June 1915 and March 1916, Robert and Sonia Delaunay stayed in the village of Vila do Conde. These nine months in contact with the warm colours of northern Portugal were a crucial stage in the painter's work, which paved the way for a theory of art according to which each plastic element conveys a specific meaning. The result was one of the painter's masterpieces, La Grande Portugaise, now in the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum in Madrid, of which our gouache is the preparatory study.





A pioneering and singular work, with brilliant colours and subtle composition, La Grande Portugaise is one of Robert Delaunay's most beautiful gouaches and watercolours.

My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

Robert DELAUNAY (1885-1941)

Lot 7
Aller au lot
Estimation :
150000 - 200000 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 200 000EUR
Robert DELAUNAY (1885-1941)

Robert DELAUNAY (1885-1941)


Portugaise au jardin, Portugal, 1915.


Gouache et aquarelle sur papier marouflé sur panneau parqueté, signée en bas à droite.


Etiquette au verso et cachet des douanes.


55,5 x 70 cm.


Petits sauts sur les bords, infimes déchirures, légères griffures.



Travail préparatoire pour le tableau conservé au musée Thyssen de Madrid.



Nous remercions M. Richard Riss de nous avoir confirmé l'authenticité de cette œuvre.

Une confirmation de certificat d’authenticité par Richard Riss sera remis au futur acquéreur.



Bibliographie :


Ref. Guy Habasque numéro 167, et numéro F. 138 aux archives.



La primauté qu’il accorde à la couleur et ses vibrations, ainsi qu’à la vision subjective du réel, font de Robert Delaunay un pionnier de l’abstraction. Portugaise au jardin, Portugal, gouache et aquarelle préparatoire au tableau La Grande Portugaise conservé au Musée Thyssen-Bornemisza, à Madrid, constitue à ce titre une œuvre ayant quasiment valeur de manifeste.



Une œuvre prophétique, aux prémices de l’abstraction


Cette gouache de belles dimensions – indiquant qu’il s’agit de l’ultime phase préparatoire à un tableau de grand format – offre une exceptionnelle symphonie de couleurs. Rouges, verts, jaunes et bleus, loin de rivaliser en saturation, s’agencent avec justesse dans une composition où se côtoient des formes abstraites et éléments figuratifs – une femme en habits traditionnels, un palmier. S’inscrivant dans les toutes premières années de l’abstraction, Portugaise au jardin manifeste le soin de Delaunay à exprimer un « langage lumineux », tel que le décrit le poète Guillaume Apollinaire ; la lumière et les qualités vibratoires des couleurs devenant le sujet-même de sa peinture. Notre œuvre se situe ainsi à un moment charnière de l’histoire de l’art, auquel Delaunay fait davantage que contribuer ; il l’active.



Un témoignage rare du séjour de l’artiste au Portugal


Entre juin 1915 et mars 1916, Robert et Sonia Delaunay séjournent dans le village de Vila do Conde. Ces neuf mois au contact des couleurs chaudes du nord du Portugal constituent une étape cruciale dans l’œuvre du peintre, qui ouvre la voie à une théorie de l’art selon laquelle chaque élément plastique véhicule un sens spécifique. En résultera l’un des chefs-d’œuvre du peintre, La Grande Portugaise, aujourd’hui conservé au Musée Thyssen-Bornemisza à Madrid, dont notre gouache est l’étude préparatoire.



Œuvre pionnière et singulière, aux couleurs éclatantes et à la composition subtile, La Grande Portugaise est l’une des plus belles gouaches et aquarelles de Robert Delaunay.

Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue